Zur Startseite

Research

Research

From Breeding Progress to Breeding Milestones

If you want eggs, you need laying hens – and these hens have to be healthy and productive. Consumers wanted even more: one wanted white eggs, another wanted brown eggs, the next one wanted large eggs and another wanted small eggs. Egg producers also had specific requirements: one producer kept his hens in cages, another in percheries and yet another kept them in barns or had a free-range system. This is why LOHMANN TIERZUCHT’s principle very quickly became: “For each housing system the right hen – for every market the right egg”. A principle which is also of the highest priority for LOHMANN TIERZUCHT’S breeding work.

Research and Development as a Pillar of Support

Intensive research and development is one of the supporting pillars of a sustainable breeding program and for breeding achievements which always continue to be milestones in international poultry breeding. LOHMANN TIERZUCHT is constantly investing in research and development. Around ten percent of its turnover is invested in this area and provides the basis for innovations – and for the company’s success.
The investments pay off: constant advances in breeding progress with regard to all major performance and quality traits and innovations ensure that LOHMANN TIERZUCHT remains the market leader and that its customers are provided with real added value and a major competitive edge. Here are just two of many examples:
The patent for marker-assisted selection against “fish odour eggs” contributed to better utilisation of regional sources of protein. The transponder-based performance testing in barn systems is a second step in the market-oriented breeding of laying hens.

 

Address

LOHMANN TIERZUCHT GmbH
Am Seedeich 9–11
27472 Cuxhaven
Germany

Contact

Phone: + 49 (0) 47 21 505-0
Fax:      + 49 (0) 47 21 505-222
E-mail:  info@ltz.de
Contact persons

 
 

BREEDING FOR SUCCESS ... TOGETHER

Zur Startseite

Forschung

Research

Von Zuchtfortschritten zu Meilensteinen der Zucht

Wer Eier will, braucht Legehennen – und zwar solche, die gesund und leistungsfähig sind. Der Verbraucher verlangte noch mehr: Der eine wollte weiße, der andere braune Eier, der nächste große, der übernächste kleine. Auch der Eierproduzent stellte Anforderungen: Der eine hielt seine Tiere in Käfigen, der andere in Volieren, wieder andere in Boden- oder Freilandhaltung. So entstand sehr schnell bei LOHMANN TIERZUCHT das Prinzip „Für jede Haltungsform das geeignete Huhn – für jeden Markt das richtige Ei“. Ein Prinzip, das auch für die Zuchtarbeit von LOHMANN TIERZUCHT höchste Priorität hat.

Forschung und Entwicklung als tragende Säule

Intensive Forschung und Entwicklung ist eine der tragenden Säulen für ein nachhaltiges Zuchtprogramm und für Zuchterfolge, die immer wieder zu Meilensteinen in der internationalen Geflügelzucht werden. LOHMANN TIERZUCHT investiert kontinuierlich in Forschung und Entwicklung. Rund zehn Prozent des Umsatzes fließen in diesen Bereich und bilden den Grundstock für Innovationen – und für den Erfolg des Unternehmens.

Die Investitionen zahlen sich aus: stetiger Zuchtfortschritt in allen wichtigen Leistungs- und Qualitätsmerkmalen und Innovationsleistungen, die LOHMANN TIERZUCHT den Vorsprung im Markt sichern und ihren Kunden echten Mehrwert und einen wichtigen Wettbewerbsvorteil bieten. Hier nur zwei von vielen Beispielen:

Durch das Patent für die Marker-gestützte Selektion gegen „Stinkeier“ konnte ein wesentlicher Beitrag zur besseren Verwertung regionaler Proteinquellen geleistet werden. Die Transponder-gestützte Leistungsprüfung in der Bodenhaltung ist ein zweiter Baustein für die marktorientierte Legehennenzucht.

 

Adresse

LOHMANN TIERZUCHT GmbH
Am Seedeich 9–11
27472 Cuxhaven
Deutschland

Kontakt

Tel.: + 49 (0) 47 21 505-0
Fax:      + 49 (0) 47 21 505-222
E-Mail:  info@ltz.de
Ansprechpartner

 
 

BREEDING FOR SUCCESS ... TOGETHER